90029 #13
EAN: 9120073690029

The Morricones

  • Description
  • More Details
Tales of the Wasteland

 .

Nothing Quiet on the Western Front

It is not a coincidence that on the new single of THE MORRICONES - „Dead Man Walk On“ - the vocal part comes along with the ringing of death bells. If this is not enough for spreading oppression, Wolf Jacobi, singer of the band will give you the creeps while singing the refrain of the “Desperate Man” with his tanned voice. Chris Wiener on his guitar, Axel W. Mayr on his bass and Franz Gelhart on his drums are well up in riding with Wolf Jacobi as THE MORRICONES through their self-created acoustic landscapes. The dreadful, disturbing and emotional sounds as well as the glittering, dusty location they are set in create terrific, acoustic images that can be described best as “Western Drama”.   

An Austrian Production from Berlin The single that is available right now and the debut album, which will be released on 15th of September  2016, were both produced by Raphael Tschernuth (who produced the album “Tell Me” for the Austrian Amadeus Award nominee and blues singer MEENA CRYLE). The string and brass sections were added manually as one would expect it for large soundtrack productions. For the recordings all musicians were dragged to the Western part of Berlin. There Tschernuth, the sound technician Jeremy Nothman (BEAR’S DEN), the drum specialist Joe Dilworth (PJ HARVEY, STEREOLAB) and the mastering legend Doug Henderson (THE SWANS, ANTONY AND THE JOHNSONS, DEVENDRA BANHART) added their personal touch to the 10 songs of the album. Ennio News? Excellent in melody and arrangement the song „Dead Man Walk On“ – acting as a first impression of the debut album „Tales of the Wasteland“ – is at least as good as the soundtracks of the famous Italian Western. Despite of that and the perfectly set quotations within the songs the music is more than present. „Desperate Man“ and the add-on single „Yucatán“ are songs easy to remember, made „Once Upon a Time in the West“. Dead Man, Kill Bill! Even if „Dead Man Walk On“ sounds as being part of the soundtrack from an Austrian Western in the middle of the Alps – this music has the power to rise from the valley of darkness.  

Should there finally be found a film director that has the guts to demand proper film music for the next generation of Western, there is certainly nobody else but THE MORRICONES that should be taken into consideration for this Quentin-step. One thing is certain: this would lead to a soundtrack that hasn’t been heard since “Once Upon a Time in the West”.

90029 #13
EAN: 9120073690029

The Morricones

  • Beschreibung
  • Mehr Details ...
Tales of the Wasteland

 .

Im Westen endlich Neues

Nicht zufällig sind es Sterbeglocken, welche den Gesangspart bei „Dead Man Walk On“, dem Opener des neuen Albums von THE MORRICONES einläuten. Wenn sich da noch keine Beklemmung breitmacht, läuft es einem spätestens dann eiskalt über den Rücken, wenn der „Desperate Man“, Sänger Wolf Jacobi, mit gegerbter Stimme den Refrain intoniert. Sattelfest auf ihren Instrumenten, reiten Chris Wiener an der Gitarre, Axel W. Mayr am Bass und Franz Gelhart am Schlagzeug mit ihm als THE MORRICONES durch selbst erschaffene musikalische Landschaften. So grausam, emotional, aufwühlend ist dieser Track durch gleißendes, staubiges Terrain, dass die erschaffenen Hörbilder getrost als „Western Drama“ bezeichnet werden können.

 

Eine österreichische Produktion aus Berlin In Szene gesetzt wurde das am 15.Okt. 2016 erscheinende Debütalbum „Tales of the Wasteland“ vom Produzenten Raphael Tschernuth (der u. a. das Album „Tell Me“ der für den Amadeus Award nominierten österreichischen Bluesstimme MEENA CRYLE produziert hat). Wie es sich für große Filmmusikproduktionen gehört, sind die Streicher und Bläsersätze von Hand eingespielt worden und kommen nicht aus der Konserve. Für die Aufnahmen wurden alle Musiker in den Westen Berlins gekarrt – womöglich sogar in Planwagen. Dort haben neben Tschernuth auch Tontechniker Jeremy Nothman (BEAR’S DEN), Drum-Spezialist Joe Dilworth (PJ HARVEY, STEREOLAB) und Mastering-Guru Doug Henderson (THE SWANS, ANTONY AND THE JOHNSONS, DEVENDRA BANHART) den 10 Songs ihren Stempel eingebrannt. Ennio News? Souverän in Melodieführung und Arrangement stehen die Songs dem Soundtrack großer Italowestern- Klassiker jedenfalls in nichts nach. Abgesehen davon und von den gekonnt eingesetzten Zitaten ist die Musik allerdings zur Gänze gegenwärtig. „Dead Man Walk On“ und „Davy Crockett“ haben Hooklines mit hohem Erinnerungspotenzial, made „Once Upon a Time in the West“. In „Carter“ und „Charles Bronson“ werden alte Helden und Phantome besungen und deren Niedergang orchestral inszeniert. Auch leichtfüßigere Songs sind zu hören, wie etwa das sommerliche „Sunny Cooper“, das beschwingte „Yucatán“ oder das griffige „Cheyenne Lady“ wobei auf Letzterem die Stromgitarre nicht auf Akzente allein reduziert ist.

Grundsätzlich liegt der Fokus der Songs auf den zweistimmigen Gesangsparts und entfaltet insbesondere bei den am popigsten wirkenden Songs wie „Lobo“ oder „Chasing the Sun“ besondere Wohlfühl-Qualitäten. Schließlich zeigt „Lullaby“ als zärtliches Wiegenlied des Albums und reduziertes Singer-Songwriter- Duett, dass ein Western Drama nicht immer laut sein muss – es ist mitunter ein Juwel im Repertoire der tragisch zu scheitern drohenden Western- Haudegen.