940 #134
EAN: 9005216009404

Bluesfrizz

  • Description
  • More Details
Right Mind

 .

------

------

BluesFrizz (aka Rearl Blues Frizz / RB Friedrich) is an Austrian blues legend.
Having been on the road for almost 5 decades, he has long since left the trampled paths of traditional blues musicians, and goes his own individual way.
After "Down the Tracks" (Beat Bull 1996) and "Forty Five" (ATS Records CD-0546, 2007),
Frizz now presents his third solo album.
A total of 15 titles, recorded over a period of several years, have been placed on "Right Mind", including 6 originals. Frizz has recorded three tracks with electric guitar, here he is accompanied by Edgar Mottas, a pal from early days, on drums.
"Right Mind" presents BluesFrizz in the usual 'earthy' way, but also brings to light a lesser known, spiritual side of him (for example, on "Morning Rain" and "Lost Soul"). The musical journey begins with the instrumental "Snakes"; accompanied on a diddley bow and a kalimba (an African thumb piano), the blues 'haudegen' wanders through a jungle occupied by snakes.
This beautiful album is a confession of his family roots ("Cowhide Yodel"), just as well as his musical ("Last Fair Deal Going Down"). Very touching is Frizz' recounting of the genesis of his title "Hard Headed Mama" on which he plays an old Key mandolin that his father brought from US American captivity as a prisoner of World War II. Frizz had to restore it, and finally needed 6 years(!) to finish the recording.
And last not least there's BluesFrizz, the family guy who has his "right mind", "... until [his] good friends came around."

940 #134
EAN: 9005216009404

Bluesfrizz

  • Beschreibung
  • Mehr Details ...
Right Mind

 .

------

------

BluesFrizz (aka Rearl Blues Frizz / RB Friedrich) ist eine österreichische Blues Legende.
seit beinahe 5 Jahrzehnten "on the road", hat er bereits vor vielen Jahren die ausgetrampelten Pfade traditioneller Bluesmusiker verlassen, und geht unbeirrt seinen eigenen Weg.

Nach "Down the Tracks" (Beat Bull 1996) und "Forty Five" (ATS Records CD-0546, 2007)
legt Frizz nun – etwas spät – sein drittes Solo-Album vor.

Insgesamt 15 Titel, aufgenommen über einen Zeitraum von mehreren Jahren, haben auf "Right Mind" Platz gefunden, darunter 6 eigene.  Drei Nummern hat Frizz mit elektrischer Gitarre einspielt, hier wird er von E d g a r M o t t a s , einem Weggefährten aus frühen Tagen, am Schlagzeug begleitet.

"Right Mind" präsentiert BluesFrizz in gewohnt erdiger Weise, zeigt ihn aber auch von einer weniger bekannten, spirituellen Seite (bspw. auf "Morning Rain" und "Lost Soul"). Die musikalische Reise beginnt mit der Instrumental-Nummer "Snakes"; begleitet auf einem diddley bow und einer kalimba (einem afrikanischen Daumenklavier) irrt der Blues-Haudegen durch einen von Schlangen eingenommenen Dschungel.
Das schöne Album ist nicht zuletzt auch ein Bekenntnis an seine familiären Wurzeln ("Cowhide Yodel"),
freilich auch seine musikalischen ("Last Fair Deal Going Down").  Sehr berührend, wie Frizz die Entstehungsgeschichte zum Titel "Hard Headed Mama" erzählt, auf der er eine alte Key-Mandoline spielt, die sein Vater einst aus der amerikanischen Kriegsgefangenschaft heimbrachte, welche Frizz noch zu restaurieren hatte, und schließlich 6 Jahre(!) benötigte, um die Aufnahme fertig zu stellen.

Ja, und da ist noch BluesFrizz, der Familienmensch, der seinen "Right Mind" hat(te),  "…until [his] good friends came around."